Move Files Within the Content Collection

Printer-friendly versionPDF version

When you move a file, it will relocate your file to a different folder location of your choosing within the Blackboard Content Collection area. 

Any links/references to the file(s) you moved will be automatically updated and do not need to be re-linked from within your course.

To move a file (or multiple files) already in your Content Collection:

  1. Click the Content tab at the top right-hand corner of the window.
  2. Choose the appropriate Area of the Content Collection.
  3. Use the checkbox beside each file name to select it, or the check box at the top to select all files.
  4. Click the Move button near the top or bottom of your file list.

    After clicking Move, you will be given a summary of the files you selected.
     
  5. Click the Browse button in the Destination section.
  6. Select the location where you wish to move your file(s).

    Generally, you will move your file(s) within your personal Content Collection area.  Select this by clicking in My Content, users, and your username.  You have the option to move files to other areas in Blackboard, like Course Content areas, however you must have Write permission to the destination folder in order to do so.
     
  7. Select the specific folder location you wish to move your file(s). 
  8. Click the Submit button at the bottom of the Destination page.
  9. Click the Submit button again, at the bottom of the Move Content page.